TK’s at the Villa Mayfair

By Mitchell Nover
mnover81@yahoo.com

TK’s at the Villa Mayfair has something for everyone. Tucked away in Coconut Grove, across the street from Cocowalk and the Mayfair Hotel & Spa, TK’s is a warm and welcoming, full-service neighborhood restaurant and bar offering outstanding American International cuisine. Featuring hip and contemporary styling inside and out I can only imagine that if TK’s were located in a trendier area it would be overflowing with throngs of foodie hipsters, but thankfully it’s not. At its heart, TK’s a neighborhood joint; a Grove favorite just for those in the know.

TK's-Exterior-1_web

I’ve personally had the pleasure of trying both the lunch and dinner menus at TK’s. For lunch, I visited on a sleepy Saturday afternoon with only a handful of people eating so I got to really take my time and scope out the place. I tried the Crispy Calamari & Rock Shrimp ($12), TK’s Tuna Tartar ($14), and “Angry Burger” with turkey, bacon and avocado ($12, $2 each for the bacon and avocado add-ons). I also couldn’t resist a glass of Sangria ($8) and a pint of the Radeberger German Pilsner that they have on tap ($5) – it was a weekend after all. In my opinion, the lunch menu was great, offering a no-frills, fresh, well-balanced, and just all-around delicious daytime meal. Although I went on a weekend, if you work in the area, TK’s would also be perfect for a quick bite on your midweek lunch break; with our without the Sangria or Beer.

Angry-Burger_web

CalamariRockShrimp1

drinks_tk1_web

A few weeks later, I stopped in for a weeknight dinner fix and was equally impressed with my experience. I noticed that the dining room was much busier with people carrying over their happy hours at the bar and a private dinner party taking place, but despite the increase in action, I was provided the same level of relaxed, attentive service that I had during my quiet lunch the other day. In terms of the food, the dinner menu offers a wider selection of dishes than the lunch menu. That said, some of the lunch menu items carry over to the dinner menu because, why not? If the dishes are good, they’re good. I, myself, couldn’t resist and started out with the TK’s Tuna Tartare again ($15, up $1 from the lunch version). For the entrees, however, I went with something different and tried the Cajun Jambalaya, a Louisiana-style rice dish with spicy andouille sausage, shrimp, chicken, celery and red peppers ($19), and the Pan-Seared Chilean Sea Bass, with creamy risotto, green beans, mushrooms, fennel, and a saffron just ($38). Finally, for dessert, I went with a delicious Crème Brulee ($6).

TK's-Tartare-3_web

Jambalaya_web

Creme-Brulee

Another highlight of my dinner at TK’s, and a genius idea in my book, is their “Mojito Madness” menu. Taking Miami’s unofficial signature cocktail to the next level, TK’s has partnered with Botran Rum to create an extensive menu of twenty different Mojito flavors for guests to enjoy, ranging from the Classic ($11) to exotic flavors like Beet ($14). I tried a few of the fruity flavors – Pineapple, Raspberry, Elderflower, Watermelon, and Island (all $13) – but the unexpected standout for me was the Chipotle Cacao ($13).

TK's-Exterior-1_drinksweb

Open Tuesday through Saturday for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, and dinner, TK’s at the Villa Mayfair’s eclectic décor, amazing menu, and attentive staff come together to create an eatery so inviting, it feels like home.

TK’s at the Villa Mayfair
Address: 2901 Florida Avenue, Coconut Grove, FL 33133
Tel: 305-774-1500

  • facebook.com/TksVillaMayfair
  • twitter.com/TKSVillaMayfair
  • instagram.com/tksatthevillamayfair
  • www.tksvillamayfair.com/
  • Hours of Operation:
    Sunday & Monday: Closed
    Tuesday-Saturday: Breakfast starts at 8:00am; Lunch starts at 11:30am; Dinner starts at 4:00pm; Happy Hour from 3:00pm to 7:00pm

    About Great Food List

    WE TALK LOCAL FOOD & EVENTS FOR SOUTH FLORIDA!

    No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

    Leave a Reply

